Hawaii Travel Blog

View This Property

Kapalua, Maui: Home of the 2010 SBS Championship (Formerly the Mercedes Open)

Kapalua, Maui was all a buzz earlier in January 2010 with golf fans, players and sponsors. Kapalua hosted the SBS Championship, the PGA’s season opener and winner’s only event. With $5.6 million up for grabs, 34 PGA professionals were anxious to try their swing at the Kapalua Plantation Course. Past winners have included Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Stuart Appleby, Vijay Singh, and Daniel Chopra. 2010’s champion is Geoff Ogilvy just slightly beating out Rory Sabbitini with a score of 270 and 271 respectively. Geoff Ogilvy had a slight advantage being the 2009 winner as well with a score of 268.